Why do dogs chase cars?

Dogs ancestors were hunters and hunters chase their prey. When something moves away quickly it triggers prey drive in some dogs making them give chase. If the dog is guarding its property every time the chase ends with the car leaving then in the dogs mind it wins and will keep chasing cars to win.