What's the difference between leeks and onions?

Green onions and leeks are part of the same onion family, but leeks are larger and milder in taste and aroma than green onions. It is harder to cook the leaves of leeks while green onion leaves can be easily cooked. Green onions can be eaten raw, but leeks require to be cooked before consumption.