When did child labor laws go into effect?

The federal child labor provisions, also known as the child labor laws, authorized by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938, were enacted to ensure that when young people work, the work is safe and does not jeopardize their health, well-being or educational opportunities.