How much coffee should i use for twelve cups?

This depends on your personal taste. Most gourmet coffee companies recommend 2 tablespoons of ground coffee per 4 ounce cup. However this makes a very strong coffee. You might want to start with one tablespoon per 4 oz which is more common. Or, have hot water to add if coffee is too strong.