Why are vegetables called vegetables?

The word "vegetable" comes from the Latin word "vegetabilis," which means "growing" or "flourishing." It originally referred to all plants, and was applied specifically to edible plants in the eighteenth century.

---

The word vegetable comes from a late Middle English word meaning to grow like a plant. It comes from the Latin word vegetare meaning the sense of being alive.