What is don't look a gift horse in the mouth mean?

Don't look a gift horse in the mouth means that one should not complain or question when being given a gift but instead accept it graciously.

---

This phrase means that you should not look at a gift's real value as gifts are usually given as a token or item of friendship. Doing so means you are placing a "price tag" onto this symbolic gesture. Checking a horse's mouth is usually done to check the horse's health, Thus the value.