How much does a train car weigh?

A typical freight car weighs 30 tons empty, and can carry another 100 tons loaded for 130 total tons per loaded car. So a typical over the road long haul freight train can weigh anywhere from 3,000 tons to 18,000 tons or more depending on the number of cars in the train.