What makes a craftsman style house?

Pushing back on the mass produced houses of the early 20th century, craftsman style normally refers to hand-crafted, natural materials, 19th century design aesthetics inside and outside of the home. Homes in the 21st century often combine the craftsman style with modern technologies / efficiencies.