What's the difference between convection baking and baking?

The temperature in a regular oven varies throughout the space. A convection oven stabilizes the temperature and typically causes food to cook more evenly. For example, the edges of a cookie will brown faster in a regular oven, whereas the whole cookie will evenly brown in a convection oven.