How do you go ice fishing?

You could make a hole in thick ice and use a "Tip up "fishing device that has a spring which reacts to a fish nibbling at the bait, when the fish bites. it triggers the trap to fly up pulling the hook and releasing a flag , capturing the fish. That way you watch from a warm car.