How do you microwave a big potato?

Wash and wrap a wet paper towel around the potato and microwave. Time varies between different varieties of potatoes and number of potatoes cooked. Expect to cook 2 medium potatoes together for about 8-10 minutes. Potato is finished when fork easily enters the potato and the paper towel is dry.