What is the great hope diamond?

It is a large diamond, 45.52 carats. It originated in India in 1666 as the Tavernier Blue. This was cut and yielded the French Blue which Tavernier sold to King Louis XIV. Stolen in 1791, it was re-cut, with the largest section being acquired by the Hope family in 1839.