Where did the term whippersnapper come from?

A whip-snapper was a seventeenth-century term for a young man with nothing better to do than to hang about idly snapping a whip. Whippersnapper is one of those rare terms that has a somewhat literal origin. Today, the term is usually used in an archaic sense or as a slightly humorous term.