What is negative oedipal?

In the context of psychoanalytic theory, the negative Oedipus complex is the inverse of the Oedipus Complex in which young boys will desire their mothers and assume their fathers as a direct rival whereas young girls will desire their fathers and assume their mothers a direct rival to their desire.