How did venom get his powers?

Venom and all its descendants possess the ability to bypass Spider-Man's Spider-Sense; because the original symbiote was attached to Peter Parker (Spider-Man) first, it took his genetic information and spider-powers, thanks to the Symbiote's Parasitic Inheritance.