What is the smallest desert?

According to the Guiness Book of World records, the smallest desert is The Atacama Desert in Chile, covering only 40,600 square miles. However, although disputed by scientists, the Carcross Desert in Yukon, Canada is often considered the unofficial smallest desert in the world at 1 Square mile.