Why was she called lady bird?

There is a story about Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson's nickname, Lady Bird. Once a nursemaid said about her, "She's as purty as a ladybird.” This nickname continued, and people called her "Lady Bird." The nursemaid was supposedly referring to the ladybug beetle, also known as a ladybird beetle.