How do you get bamboo in animal crossing?

To get bamboo on Animal Crossing, redeem a Nook Miles Ticket from the Nook Miles Shop located at the ATM machine in the town hall. Redeem your ticket with Orville at the airport, and he will send you to a random mystery island. One of the islands will have bamboo. It may take several tries.