How long was the united states involved in the vietnam war?

Congress gave President Johnson the authority to declare war in Vietnam in August of 1964 after the Gulf of Tonkin incident. Though the (ineffective) Paris Peace Accords were signed in January of 1973, the last remaining American civilians & military personnel were evacuated on April 29th, 1975.