What's the definition of moffitt?

The Scottish name Moffitt was first used by the Strathclyde-Briton people of the Scottish, English Borderlands. The place-name is derived from the Gaelic words magh and fada, which mean field and long. Hence, the surname Moffitt means, from the long field.