Who is the first person to go into outer space?

Soviet cosmonaut Yuri Alekseyevich Gagarin became the first human being to travel into space, on April 12, 1961, aboard the spacecraft Vostok 1.

---

The first human to go into outer space was Yuri Gagarin, who completed one orbit of Earth on 12 April 1961.