Is alcohol an acid or a base?

Neither. By the Arrhenius definition of an acid and base, alcohol is neither acidic nor basic when dissolved in water which is considered a normal condition. When alcohol reacts with very strong bases or very strong acidic solutions, it can act as an acid or a base, but that's difficult to achieve.