Can paint go bad?

Yes, it can. Most latex paints have a shelf life of up to 10 years, but paint can go bad in a much shorter amount of time, especially if stored improperly. Bad paint may not go on properly, leaving a visibly rough finish that may also peel. Paint has gone bad when it has a strong, rancid odor.