What is the superman symbol?

Superman's symbol, often interpreted as a "S", is in fact not an "S", or any other letter. It is the Kryptonian symbol meaning “hope”. The symbol also happens to be his family crest. Most often the symbol is depicted in red and yellow, with the symbol itself being red in a field of yellow.