How do you store almond butter?

You don't have to store almond butter in the fridge, but it's not a bad idea.The reason it's better to keep almond butter in the fridge than in your pantry or kitchen cabinet is simple. Even though a jar of the stuff is shelf-stable for up to two years when unopened, almond butter can go rancid.