Does red wine go with salmon?

The richness of the wine can overwhelm the salmon flavour if you're not careful. the best red wine for salmon is anything with less tannins. Low-tannin wines—like Pinot Noir, Beaujolais, or light Valpolicella—will pair nicely with the fish, but without overwhelming your palate with a metallic taste.