Why did jack mccall shoot wild bill hickok?

Jack McCall lost several hands while playing poker with Wild Bill Hickok, and others. He was soon broke. Hickok offered McCall money to buy breakfast and advised him not to play again until he could cover his losses. Though McCall accepted the money, he reportedly resented Hickok & felt insulted.