How do you create glass in minecraft?

To make a glass, place a block of sand in the top cell in the furnace GUI. Then, fill the lower cell with your choice of fuel such as coal, wood, etc. Wait for the arrow in the middle to fill. Now that a glass block has been crafted, simply click the glass and drag it into your inventory.