How much protein does garbanzo beans have?

Chickpeas (Garbanzo beans) are a great source of plant-based protein and are excellent food for people who don't eat meat or animal products. A 1-cup (164-gram) serving provides about 14.5 grams of protein, which is comparable to the protein content of similar foods like black beans and lentils.