What is a grade level?

Grade level is the term used to define where a child is in school, usually thought of as First Grade (age 6-7), Second Grade (age 7-8), etc., up to Twelfth Grade. When a child enters school at 6 years old, s/he is at first grade level. It can also refer to the academic expectations for each grade.