Who first propose that armistice day be renamed veterans day?

In 1945, World War II veteran Raymond Weeks from Birmingham, Alabama, had the idea to expand Armistice Day to celebrate all veterans, not just those who died in World War I. Then in 1954, President Dwight D. Eisenhower officially changed the name of the holiday from Armistice Day to Veterans Day.