How long can you use meat after the sell by date?

It depends largely on the temperature at which it's been stored, and somewhat on the type and cut of meat. If the meat was frozen soon after purchase it can be used for several months, and possibly longer, after the sell by date. Ground meat does not keep as well as whole pieces.