What's the correct way to hard boil eggs?

To hard boil an egg, place the eggs in a saucepan and cover with 1 to 2 inches of cold water. Bring to a boil, turn off heat, cover and let them sit for 12 minutes. Drain and cool the eggs with cold running water.

---

Place eggs in a large saucepan. Cover them with cool water by 1 inch. Cover with a lid and bring water to a boil over high heat; when the water has reached a boil, set the timer for the desired time. Boil for 6 - 7 minutes over medium-high heat for perfect hard-boiled eggs.