What's a good substitute for sumac?

Lemon Zest: This is the most easily available ingredient that can be used as a sumac substitute. Mix some fresh lemon zest with salt and voila! You have an alternative ready. Lemon Pepper Seasoning: This is easily available everywhere and is a very effective Sumac substitute.