What is the army air corps?

In a major step toward an Air Force, the Army Air Service was re-designated, July 2, 1926. During this time, the mission of aviators was to support ground troops and aviation assets reported to ground force commanders. The Air Corps was not dissolved until 1947 - with the creation of the Air Force.