When did fireworks start?

While fireworks may seem like a very American tradition, especially on the Fourth of July, their origins go back centuries before the first Independence Day fireworks display in Philadelphia in 1777. The earliest forms of such pyrotechnics can be traced to around 2,000 years ago in China.