What is wen on goldfish?

Wen is a fatty growth, or growths, that some goldfish breeds have on the tops of their heads or covering their faces, except for their mouths. Wen is a fatty substance and can cause some fish issues with vision and balance, but thankfully, can be cut by a reputable vet if overgrown.