When was doughnuts made?

Doughnuts were made in the mid nineteenth century by Elizabeth Gregory. Mrs. Gregory put hazelnuts or walnuts in the center, where the dough might not cook through, and therefore called them doughnuts.

---

The first printing of the word, "doughnut" was in 1750 A.D. This meaning of doughnut stood for , " dough the size of a walnut". The current ring shaped doughnut that we all know of today is claimed to have been created in 1847 A.D.