Is chorizo precooked?

Chorizo is not always pre cooked. If it’s red in the package, it’s raw and needs to be cooked. If it’s mostly brown with the fat separated, it’s been cooked and it’s safe to eat. There are a few companies that smoke this product and it is safe to eat out of the package as well. Check the label!