What is the white trails behind planes?

They are called contrails, or "condensation trails" and are line-shaped clouds produced by aircraft engine exhaust or changes in air pressure. The combination of water vapor in aircraft engine exhaust and the low ambient temperatures that exist at high altitudes allows the formation of the trails.