What are bark cookies?

Bark cookies get their name because they somewhat resemble the bark of a tree. They usually have a chocolate base with some other goodies, such as candy or other cookies, crunched up and sprinkled on top so the surface is rough and uneven. They are baked in a sheet and broken into uneven pieces.