Do rivers freeze?

Rivers can and do freeze. While water moving requires a lower temperature they still can freeze. Something to note is that even the Niagara Falls have frozen as recently as 2019.

---

Large rivers do not freeze "through out" because, Water, ice, and snow are good insulators and poor conductors of heat. The portions of a lake or river that are exposed to the cold winter air will freeze into ice and this ice insulates the water below from further rapid freezing.