Does the panama canal have locks?

W L S consists of a total of three sets of locks-12 locks- to help vessels transit between the Atlantic and the Pacific Oceans via artificial lakes and channels. Before the canal expansion, which was completed in 2016, the canal had two lines with two sets of the lock at both ends of the canal