How do i make poached pears?

Peel 4 medium pears, leaving the stalk intact. Place them them into a saucepan with crushed cardamom pods, caster sugar, a vanilla pod, saffron, a cinnamon stick and 1 litre of water. Poach for 2 hours or until the pears are tender, then remove them from the heat and allow them to cool.