Why do humans have lips?

Lips allow us to chew and swallow with our mouth closed; to hold onto things and to breast feed. But even more importantly, our lips are used in communication. They allow us to smile, to bare our teeth and to kiss. They are also required for about half of the phonemes we use in normal speech.