What type of bomb was dropped on hiroshima?

The bomb that was dropped on hiroshima was a gun-type fission weapon that derived its explosive power from the nuclear fission of uranium-235. It shot a hollow cylinder (the "bullet") onto a solid cylinder of the same material (the "target") by means of a charge of nitrocellulose propellant powder.