What is silver platter?

The expression "on a silver platter" means "to give or receive something "without having to work or make an effort"

---

Servers who worked Fine dining in Europe during the early 1900s used to serve wine, coffee,digestives, and amaros on sterling silver trays. Hence saying “serve it to you on a silver platter”