Why is it called pizza?

Their origin is from Latin pinsere "to pound, stamp". The Lombardic word bizzo or pizzo meaning "mouthful" (related to the English words "bit" and "bite"), which was brought to Italy in the middle of the 6th century AD by the invading Lombards.

---

The word pizza may have originated from the Byzantine Greek and late Latin word pitta, a round flat bread baked in the oven at high temperature sometimes with toppings. The word "pizza" first appeared in a Latin text in 997 AD.