How long do you microwave a squash?

Once the squash is cut in half and you’ve scooped out the seeds, just flip it upside down in a baking dish, fill it with about an inch of water, and microwave until soft. This usually takes another five to 10 minutes, depending on the size of the squash and your microwave.