What is the difference between a trumpet and a cornet?

A trumpet has a cylindrical bore, which results in a bright, piercing sound, while a cornet has a continuously conical bore, which provides a warmer sound. (Their larger-sized brass instrument cousin, the flugelhorn, offers an even softer tone due to its larger, rounder and even more conical bore.)